Registration is required under Virginia law, when convicted of:
- A sex offense committed as a juvenile over age 13 at the time of the offense, if ordered by the court
- If 18 years of age or older, kiss a child under the age of 13 on the mouth while penetrating the child’s mouth with the tongue
- Unlawful filming, videotaping or photographing of another
- Possession, reproduction, distribution, solicitation, and facilitation of child pornography
- If 18 years old or older, to use a communications system or other electronic means to solicit a child less than 15 years old
- Indecent exposure
- Peeping or spying into dwelling or enclosure
- If 18 years old or older, abuse a child or engage in consensual sexual intercourse with a child 15 or older.
- A person is more than five years older than the victim, or is 18 years old or older and the victim is under 6 years old
- Carnal knowledge of child between 13 and 15 years old
- Sexual abuse of a child under 15 years of age
- Where the victim is a minor or is physically helpless or mentally incapacitated
- Sexual battery by force, threat, intimidation, or ruse
- Attempted rape, forcible sodomy, object sexual penetration, aggravated sexual battery, and sexual battery
- Entering dwelling with intent to commit rape
- The victim is under 15 years old, or the victim is at least 15 years old but under 18, and the murder is related to a sexual offense
- A sexually violent offense including, but not limited to, abduction, rape, forcible sodomy, inanimate or animate object sexual penetration, aggravated sexual battery, indecent liberties with children, and incest.
- Any offense similar to those listed above that are under the laws of any foreign country
- Any offense requiring registration under the laws of the jurisdiction where the offender was convicted
- An offense involving a minor on or after July 1, 1980, and before July 1, 1994.
Registration procedures and requirements are very restrictive and time sensitive. There is no Virginia State Police location, including its headquarters, that is open 365 days a year, so plan ahead.
If convicted of an offense occurring on or before June 30, 2006, there are no residence restrictions for any registrant.
Where the offender is more than three years older than the victim and is convicted in conjunction with abduction, kidnapping, burglary, intent to commit murder, rape, robbery, arson, larceny, assault and battery, aggravated malicious wounding, or other felony of:
- Sexual intercourse with a child under age 13
- Penetrating, or causing a child under age 13 to penetrate, the labia majora or anus with an animate or inanimate object
- Engaging in cunnilingus, fellatio, anilingus, or anal intercourse with a child under age 13
– when the offense occurred on or after July 1, 2006, registrants are forever prohibited from residing within 500 feet of child day center or a primary, secondary, or high school, unless the day care center or school was established within 500 feet of the registrant’s lawful residence after the conviction.
– when the offense occurred on or after July 1, 2008, registrants also are forever prohibited from residing within 500 feet of the boundary line of a county, city or town-owned and operated public park that shares a boundary line with a primary, secondary, or high school that is regularly used for school activities, unless the park was established within 500 feet of the registrant’s lawful residence after the conviction.