Home      The Law
 
 
Registration is required under Virginia law, when convicted of:
  • Possession, reproduction, distribution, solicitation, and facilitation of child pornography
  • If 18 years old or older, to use a communications system or other electronic means to solicit a child less than 15 years old
  • Peeping or spying into dwelling or enclosure
  • If 18 years old or older, abuse a child or engage in consensual sexual intercourse with a child 15 or older.
  • Attempted rape, forcible sodomy, object sexual penetration, aggravated sexual battery, and sexual battery
  • The victim is under 15 years old, or the victim is at least 15 years old but under 18, and the murder is related to a sexual offense
Registration procedures and requirements are very restrictive and time sensitive. There is no Virginia State Police location, including its headquarters, that is open 365 days a year, so plan ahead.
 
Residence restrictions

If convicted on or before June 30, 2006, there are no residence restrictions for any registrant.

Where the offender is more than three years older than the victim and is convicted in conjunction with abduction, kidnapping, burglary, intent to commit murder, rape, robbery, arson, larceny, assault and battery, aggravated malicious wounding, or other felony of:
  • Sexual intercourse with a child under age 13
  • Penetrating, or causing a child under age 13 to penetrate, the labia majora or anus with an animate or inanimate object
  • Engaging in cunnilingus, fellatio, anilingus, or anal intercourse with a child under age 13
on or after July 1, 2006, registrants are forever prohibited from residing within 500 feet of child day center or a primary, secondary, or high school, unless the day care center or school was established within 500 feet of the registrant's lawful residence after the conviction.

on or after July 1, 2008, registrants also are forever prohibited from residing within 500 feet of the boundary line of a county, city or town-owned and operated public park that shares a boundary line with a primary, secondary, or high school that is regularly used for school activities, unless the park was established within 500 feet of the registrant's lawful residence after the conviction.
 
If you are on the way to court and you meet your accuser, try to settle the matter before it reaches the judge, or you may be sentenced and handed over to an officer and thrown in jail.

None are more unjust in their judgments of others than those who have a high opinion of themselves. Charles Spurgeon
 
Safer Virginia contains general information about some sections of the Code of Virginia, but provides no representations or warranties, express or implied.
Neither does it commit to this site being constantly available, completely accurate or current.
Prompt legal advice should always be obtained from an attorney with experience in your area of concern.

© 2017 Safer Virginia   All Rights Reserved   safervirginia.org