Home      Links
 
 
Increasingly, teenagers find themselves facing sexual assault charges, even though neither partner feels victimized.
 
The age when someone can have sex with whomever they wish as long as that person is consenting and they are the same age or older. In Virginia, it's 18, and there is no age gap provision and no mistake of age defense.
 
Mental health assistance for those attracted to minors.
Public record information on offenders sentenced to the Department of Corrections.
 
 
A Minnesota site with much helpful employment information.
 
National Association for Rational Sexual Offense Laws
 
Sex Offender Solutions & Education Network
 
Not a legal term in Virginia. If 18 years old or older, having sex with a 13 or 14 year old minor is a Class 4 felony punishable by a two to 10 year sentence and up to $100,000 fine. If 18 years old or older, having sex with 15, 16, or 17 year old is a Class 1 misdemeanor punishable by up to a one year sentence and a $2,500.00 fine.
 

Virginia Department of Corrections ongoing support, crisis intervention, information, and referrals.
 
Virginia State Police Hotline
Call 804.674.2825 or address registry management concerns here.
 
 



None are more unjust in their judgments of others than those who have a high opinion of themselves. Charles Spurgeon
 
Safer Virginia contains general information about some sections of the Code of Virginia, but provides no representations or warranties, express or implied.
Neither does it commit to this site being constantly available, completely accurate or current.
Prompt legal advice should always be obtained from an attorney with experience in your area of concern.

© 2017 Safer Virginia   All Rights Reserved   safervirginia.org